Find a repair centre

Support & Downloads: Moverio BT-300

How to clear the Temp folder in Windows

The Temp folder is a directory on your Windows PC used to store temporary files. Clearing the Temp folder is a standard procedure for system administration to reduce the amount of storage space used.

Empty the Windows\Temp folder (removing all files):

To resolve this issue, empty the Temp folder. Follow the instructions below according to your version of Windows.

Windows 2000 and XP

  1. Open My Computer (or Windows Explorer).
  2. For Windows XP, browse to C:\WINDOWS\Temp; or for Windows 2000, browse to C:\WINNT\Temp.
  3. In the Temp folder, click Edit > Select All.
  4. With all the files highlighted, press the Delete key or click File > Delete.
  5. Click Yes to the 'Confirm File Delete' prompt.
  6. Once deleted, restart the computer.

Windows Vista and Windows 7

  1. Open Computer (or Windows Explorer).
  2. Browse to C:\WINDOWS\Temp.
  3. In the Temp folder, select Organise > Select All.
  4. With all the files highlighted, press the Delete key or select Organise > Delete.
  5. Click Yes to the 'Confirm File Delete' prompt.
  6. Once deleted, restart the computer.

Windows 8 and Windows 10

  1. Open Computer (or Windows Explorer).
  2. Browse to C:\WINDOWS\Temp.
  3. In the Temp folder, click Select All in the Home tab along the top of the screen.
  4. With all the files highlighted, press the Delete key or click the Delete button.
  5. Once deleted, restart the computer.

Note:

If you do not wish to delete all temporary files then you can remove the Epson files only. To remove the specific Epson files, expand the procedure below:

Remove Epson Temporary Files Only

  1. Open Windows Explorer; or My Computer in Windows 2000 and XP; or Computer in Vista, Windows 7 and Windows 8.
  2. Browse to C:\WINDOWS\Temp (C:\WINNT\Temp in Windows 2000).
  3. This should display the contents of the Temp folder. Locate the RegModule and Register.exe files, which should note 'EPSON' underneath the file name.
  4. Right-click on each file, one at a time, then left-click on Delete.
  5. Click Yes to the 'Confirm File Delete' prompt.
  6. Once deleted, restart the computer.

Empty the files from the Recycle Bin as the files will have been moved here and this ensures that they cannot be restored.

Did you find this article helpful

Thanks for leaving feedback